Although it is shared, each new semester, the presidency will be officially handed over to one of the three states. The notion of shared Presidency is important since the 18-month implemented programme will have to be common to the 3 states that assume it. The first triplet period, from January 2007 to June 2008, will be shared by Germany, Portugal and Slovenia. Here is the list of the future EU presidencies until 2020: